In 1983, the BVI participated in its first Pan American Games in Caracas, Venezuela. The first appearance in the Olympic Games came in Los Angeles, California, 1984. In 1990, the BVI completed the cycle of the major games it would participate in as it was on to Auckland, New Zealand for the first representation at the Commonwealth Games.

The British Virgin Islands gained its first medal at one of the major games in December 2002, when Dion Crabbe won the 100 meters at the Central American and Caribbean Games in El Salvador. TORTOLA--Ephraim Penn was elected as the third president of the BVI Olympic Committee in the 28-year history of the organization. Penn—who succeeded founding member Rey O’Neal, who stepped down after being at the helm of the organization for 24 its 28 years—defeated John Lewis, 10-2. The post of 1st Vice President was the keenest contested, with BVI Softball Association president Neville “Sheep” Smith, defeating Lewis 7-5 after a 6-6 first round tie. Lewis had been a member of the committee since 1988. Those who were involved in the original discussion for the formation of the BVIOC were: Khalil Hassan, Derry Maduro-Fahie, Jim Morris, Rey O'Neal, Mark Vanterpool, and Roy Pickering. O'Neal became the first BVIOC president.

Roy Barry, BVI Volleyball Association Vice President, got the nod for 2nd Vice President, when Cycling Federation President David Thomas withdrew. Treasurer Mark Chapman and Secretary General Dean Greenaway were elected by acclimation. Zebalon McLean became the athlete’s representative by a 10-2 margin over Gloria Fahie. Thomas, who was unopposed, remains as Public Relations Officer. Penn, who was first elected to the executive in 2006 elections, said some programs have been started as well as a structure and he’d like to see it expanded by revisiting it, examining where it is, what worked and to begin building new programs with the executive that can be implemented with the general body.